This park protects four historic Spanish missions around San Antonio, Texas, but does not include the famous Alamo (managed by the Daughters of the Republic of Texas). Construction began in 1718 and by 1824 secularization was complete and land was distributed among the converted natives. In 2015, these five missions along the San Antonio River were designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
1720 Mission San José, 1755 Mission Concepción, 1731 Mission Espada, 1731 Mission San Juan Capistrano
At the farthest south of the four missions (San Francisco de la Espada) there is also an interesting acequia system that includes an aqueduct, ditches, and a dam built in 1745, all of which are still used for irrigation purposes. Mission San Juan Capistrano is covered in white stucco the way they all would have been historically. Mission Concepción is the farthest north of the four missions and we thought it had the prettiest interior.
San Antonio’s famous River Walk Trail continues from the downtown area all the way south to Mission Espada, not to be confused with the signed Mission Trail driving route.
The beautifully preserved San José y San Miguel de Aguayo Mission dates back to 1720. Today this large village complex is a popular location for wedding and graduation photos.
All roads paved with designated NPS parking lots.
Explore More – What is the historic mission name for the Alamo?